The Freedom Cup is here


The Freedom Cup is contested between New Zealand and South Africa. This fiercely contested event showcases the skill and determination of two rugby powerhouses, introduced in 2004 as part of the 10th anniversary of South Africa’s first democratic election, it is presented to the winner of the annual matches between the two nations – which have traditionally also been Lipovitan-D Rugby Championship fixtures.

South Africa has held it twice, winning the inaugural contest in 2004, and again in 2009. The All Blacks claimed the Freedom Cup for the first time in 2006 (it was not contested in 2005), and have held it since 2010.

The trophy symbolizes the enduring rivalry and sportsmanship between these two formidable teams.

On display from Friday 26 January and throughout February we look forward to welcoming all fans of the Freedom Cup.